Colorad Medical Marijuana CardsHelping You Get Your Medical Marijuana Card Every Step of the Way
Colorado Medical Marijuana Program
Effective November 4, 2000, qualified patients are allowed to use marijuana as a form of treatment and/or medication. It was called Amendment 20. Patients have to be under physicians care for recommendation in order for patients to register for a Medical Marijuana Identification Card. There are some laws and guidelines included in Amendment 20 and patients who have the medical marijuana ID need to understand all its contents to prevent any confusion in the future.
The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) is the government agency that regulates the Colorado medical marijuana registry and this agency is also responsible for administering it. For patients who think they are qualified to get a medical marijuana ID, they must submit the following:
• Colorado medical marijuana registry application form which must be filled out and signed.
• Physician’s certification that shows that you are recommended to use medical marijuana as a form of treatment and/or medication.
• Photo IDs (most recent is much preferred)
• A $90 payment for the application which is non-refundable.
For renewing, the patient must apply for a renewal 60 days before the recent medical marijuana id expiration date.
• A renewal application must be filled up and signed.
• The $90 application payment will only be required if the application for renewal is filed after the 60 day renewal period has expired.
• Physician’s certification will also need to prove that you will still need medical marijuana for your condition.
• Photo ID and caregiver photo ID
• Payments used via form of check must be dated within the 12 months of the application date.
• All payments are non-refundable.
• The fee is for processing of the application so even if the application was denied, payment will not be returned.
How to Qualify for Medical Marijuana in Colorado
There are certain qualifications that are required for a patient to get a Colorado medical marijuana ID. To do so, patients must follow this step by step procedure:
• First thing that’s needed is proof that you are a Colorado resident. IDs will be useful like your Colorado ID or driver’s license. Applicant must be a Colorado resident so IDs are important.
• Bring medical records from your physician for documentation wherein it will state your diagnosed condition.
• Obtain a written certification from your physician that will state that he or she recommends you to use medical marijuana for your condition. The physician who will provide the certification must be licensed to practice medicine in the state of Colorado. Ask for verification documents from your physician proving that he or she is indeed licensed in Colorado.
• Apply for a medical marijuana identification card from the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment and pay the application fee of $90.
What Ailments Can Be Treated with Medical Cannabis?
As it states in the Amendment 20, medical use of marijuana is for patients who suffer from the following;
• A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition other than HIV, cancer or glaucoma; or treatment for such conditions, which produces for a specific patient one or more of the following, and for which, in the professional opinion of the patient’s physician, such condition or conditions may reasonably be alleviated by the medical use of marijuana:
o Severe pain;
o Severe nausea;
o Seizures, including those that are characteristic of epilepsy
o Persistent muscle spasms, including those that are characteristic of multiple sclerosis • Any other condition that is not written here may still be applied as long as your physician will include complete documentation stating how medical marijuana will treat your diagnosed condition.
What do I need to bring to my visit?
Patients are required to bring an identification card that will show their current residential address (applicant must be a Colorado resident). If any of those IDs are not available, proofs of billing will be allowed as long as it states the patient’s current address. Bringing your medical records from a physician will be helpful to both parties in verifying information needed. Patients should also bring old medicines with labels for reference.
Do I have to pay the evaluation fee if I do not receive a marijuana recommendation?
Payment will no longer be needed if the physician does not approve you. You will only pay if a recommendation will be given.
Do I have to be at least 18 to be a patient?
Not necessarily, if a patient is under 18, his or her parents or guardian must sign a waiver stating that they allow the patient to use medical marijuana for its condition given that they will be responsible for the patient’s health care decisions. Parents and guardians will be educated about the risks and benefits of medical marijuana.
Will there be any privacy issues with respect to having a state–issued medical marijuana card?
Patients should not worry about these issues coming out. All information is strictly confidential. The only people who will know that you use medical marijuana will be your doctor and the agency, although the agency will only know you by name and not you personally. The only possibility of this information coming out is if you will show your medical marijuana card or share this information to someone else.
What's the law?
The law is Amendment 20 of Colorado State. This legalizes the use of marijuana as a form of medication for patients who are recommended by doctors for treatment purposes.
How much can I legally possess?
In the amendment, it states that a patient is allowed to have:
• 2 ounces of usable form of marijuana
• No more than 6 marijuana plants, 3 or less have to be mature.
Where can I get medical cannabis?
Colorado medical marijuana cardholders are not allowed to purchase marijuana. There are no medical dispensaries or drugstores that sell medical marijuana in Colorado. They are only allowed to grow a certain number or they can have caregivers to grow marijuana for the patient’s private use only.
How do I use medical cannabis?
There are certain ways for patients to take in medical marijuana. Below are examples;
• They can be smoked or inhaled
• It can be mixed with your food or drink
• Medical marijuana can also be taken directly to your mouth (under your tongue to be exact) like regular tablet medicines.
• Applying cannabis lotions can be done also •
What kind of medical cannabis should I use?
All different types of cannabis have the same medicinal effects. All of the effects give patients appetite stimulation, relief from pain and nausea. Below are the two types of medical cannabis used: (take note that although they have the same effects, each type affects patients in different ways)
• Sativa – this type has a brain stimulation effect and is mostly used to relieve migraine and depression.
• Indica – has a bodily type effect. It relaxes the body and is used to relieve sleeping problems and muscle spasms.
Can I get a medical marijuana card in any other states?
You are allowed to get a medical marijuana card in other states. For example, you may apply for a medical marijuana card in Oregon. The Oregon Medical Marijuana Act allows out of state patients to get their cards to be covered when in Oregon. Colorado also accepts OMMP cards. To apply for a card in Oregon, contact an medical marijuana doctor here.
Clinics located in Portland, Salem, Eugene, Medford, Bend.
We Have The Answers